Skip to content
October 12, 2007 / Dusty

Acceptance

(This picture is 4 years old. This is the first time I have ever posted it because I was embarrassed that it made me look “too fat”. Today, I don’t care.)

I’m 37, today.

I’m fat.

I’m happy.

That has not always been the case.

I have been fighting with my weight for more than 20 years.

I was mocked by my own mother, as a child. I was actually a skinny kid, until middle school, when puberty hit and I was blessed with big boobs and a big ass. My older sister has always been fat. My mother used to chide me about “not getting fat, like my sister.”

I had lovers who called me “heifer” and told me that they could never “really” love me because I was “fat” and that was when I was only 130 lbs.

I’m 37, today and I weigh 185 lbs. My hubby calls me “beautiful” (and he met me when I was 40 lbs lighter…but I have had three pregnancies, since then). My mother, who fought with her weight while she served in the Armed Forces, is fat, now, too.

Today, I accept that, despite all the dietary supplements, the pills, the extreme workouts and the trying to eat “right”, I am still fat. And, after 20+ years of trying, that ain’t about to change.

I gave up the pills about three months ago. I have decided to love myself despite the “jelly belly” (thanks to my three kids) and my love handles (I accepted the saggy boobs a long time ago…thanks, kids).

I’m 37, today and I’m fat.

So are all the women in my family. I don’t know why I thought I would be “the one” to overcome that genetic predisposition. Exercise more, eat less. Those actions were productive in keeping me moving, but they did nothing to help me lose weight. The pills helped, for the first two years, but four years on, even changing brands, didn’t help at all.

I’m fat and I’m fabulous.

I have been coming across a lot of blog posts that discuss “fat acceptance” and trying to overcome what some call “impossibly beautiful” images. The rally cry is that, if you are fat, you should accept yourself as you are “today” not as the media (and the general public?) would have you believe is “ideal”.

I’m finally down with that. I have NEVER been 115 lbs, so the idea that I should keep fighting for that “ideal” weight (according to government standards) even though I have not been able to lose more than 10 lbs in four years, is a ridiculous idea.

My ideal is to be healthy, which, despite my arthritis and my ruptured cartilage (in my foot/ankle), I am. Being a healthy individual is more important to me than being thin. And, it’s a truly attainable goal.

I’m 37, today. I’m fat. I’m fabulous. And, “gosh darn-it, people like me.” Yes, even skinny people like me.

But, I am totally fighting the gray hairs, though! Hey, I’m 37, not 90!

(Humbly crossposted: Dizzy Dayz, The Sirens Chronicles)

Leave a Comment

Leave a Comment
  1. Betmo / Oct 12 2007 7:12 am

    me too 🙂 except for the gray hairs thing.

  2. Dusty / Oct 12 2007 8:53 am

    Hey, Melissa at Shakesspeares Sis is great at fighting the bullshit about fat. I applaud her for her efforts and I simply ADORE you for this post DEZ!

    As a large marge myself, I demand acceptance and will not accept anything less. Its one of the wonderful things about the internets..people get to become familiar and friendly with people based only on their words, not the way they look. It’s sad we need this type of equalizer among human beings.

    I could write a book on this subject and my comment could go on for days, but I will cut it short here. Physical deformities are also another way people are judged that is totally wrong. People are not retarded simply because they have a speech impediment or a shriveled arm, or any other physical ailment that changes the way they look..or are viewed by others.

    Thank you so much for this post Dez..your a Goddess in my book sweet woman 🙂

  3. Dusty / Oct 12 2007 8:54 am

    Oh shit..HAPPY BIRTHDAY SISTA WOMAN!!!!!!! :p

  4. Lulu Maude / Oct 12 2007 10:45 am

    You are beautiful, inside and out!

    Blessings!

  5. sagefever / Oct 12 2007 11:31 am

    I am a fellow heifer..and it is what it is.You can be healthy and fat! Bravo for accepting yourself.I realized I wasted much of my life thinking I was fat ,,at 135,at 150 now at 180 and 54 going gray I love me,and it took too long to get here!

  6. ProudProgressive / Oct 12 2007 12:21 pm

    All you gals, this skinny assed dyke says i love you, not only that but I prefer you..(TMI??!!) be proud of who you are and how you look, there is more of you to love. Society is mental. Woman are beautiful, curves, and “fat” is beautiful..its all about the person. happy birthday dez, may you have many more. Our society has NO clue about true beauty. And those who would judge by appearance always remember beauty is in the eye of the beholder and there are many who would just love to behold you so to speak – F em if a person is too shallow to want you as a friend or a lover – they probably are no one you really want to know anyhow ! I admire your pride and moxey DEZ – right on !

  7. ProudProgressive / Oct 12 2007 3:35 pm

    oh dez , i know you are married and all, and i have boundaries and morals and am not a kid person , ..BUT you are gorgeous woman ! And then there that issue of your beautiful mind..what a package ! I really like the hands on your hips..like go ahead sucker try it …double triple dare ya. Yeah Dez you rock ! And happy happy B DAY !

  8. Larry / Oct 12 2007 7:17 pm

    “Until you make peace with who you are, you’ll never be content with what you have”.

    Doris Mortman

  9. Daniel / Oct 13 2007 2:23 am

    Well, being a male and all, what can I say? Great to see your pride in yourself, Dez. It’s time women stood up to the mindless fashion magazines and the stereotypical images they promote.

    Women are women and I love them all!

Leave a comment